Friday, January 19, 2018

Indy 500 team owner wins

Andretti earned his fifth Indianapolis 500 victory as a team owner, each with a different driver. Andretti also was the winning owner in 2005 with Dan Wheldon, 2007 with Dario Franchitti, 2014 with Ryan Hunter-Reay and 2016 with Alexander Rossi.

Ironically, three of those five winners were with different teams the following year. Wheldon left for Chip Ganassi Racing in 2006, Franchitti left for Ganassi’s NASCAR team in 2008 and Sato in 2018.

Andretti is tied with Chip Ganassi for second on the all-time Indianapolis 500 victory list among team owners. Four of Ganassi's wins came as owner of Chip Ganassi Racing, with the fifth as co-owner of Pat Patrick Racing in 1989. Roger Penske leads all owners with 16 victories in 'The Greatest Spectacle in Racing.'

No comments:

Post a Comment