Thursday, July 26, 2018

the 1990 Winternats upset that made history

 K.C. Spurlock wins Funny Car in his debut, nine days after he completed licensing.

He  knocked off  No.1  qualifier John Force, R.C. Sherman, defending series champ Bruce Larson, and, in the final, Ed “the Ace” McCulloch.

Spurlock was the first driver in history to win in his Pro debut.

He would later be joined by Gary Scelzi (1997) and Darrell Russell (2001) on the short list.

No comments:

Post a Comment